latest news

Lionesses Begin Series Qualifiers Against Hong Kong

Lionesses Begin Series Qualifiers Against Hong Kong

The Lionesses will start their Women’s Sevens World Series qualifiers with a Pool B clash against hosts Hong Kong at 6.28am East African Time on Thursday 6 April 2017. They will then face off with Belgium at 8.50am before winding up against Argentina at 11.46am.  

Meanwhile, the team today began a three day camp in Nairobi as they intensify  their preparations for the world series qualifiers. 

Head Coach Kevin Wambua, speaking to the Kenya Rugby  Union, said, “ This residential camp is vital for the team for various reasons. We of course are keen on creating a cohesive bond amongst the players. It will also assist in our final preps before we name the final travelling party for the qualifiers in Hong Kong.”

Wambua is expected to name the final squad in the coming week.

Lionesses Fixtures In Hong Kong

Thursday 6 April 2017

Kenya v Hong Kong - 6.28am 

Kenya v Belgium - 8.50am

Kenya v Argentina - 11.46am

Add a comment
KRU Commemorates International Women's Day

KRU Commemorates International Women's Day

Events to commemorate this year's International Women’s Day will be commemorated with tournaments on the 25th of march 2017 in KRU District 2 at Ndiru Mixed Secondary in Kisumu County and on the 26th at Rianyanchabera in Kisii County. This is the third tournament of it's kind to be held; the first two tournaments were held in Nairobi County in 2015 and 2016.

Ndiru Secondary which is Zone B will host a total of nine schools on Saturday. They are Ndiru Secondary, Barchando Girls, Lwak Girls, Nyakongo Girls, Kisumu Girls, Sinyolo Girls, Ahero Girls, Got Rateng’ Girls and St. Alloys Reru Girls.

Zone A will see Rianyanchabera Grounds host a total of 12 teams on Sunday: Rianyanchabera  Secondary who are the defending Champions in Nyanza Region and home to the rising star janet kerubo who was last years top try scorer in the girls high school national competition. The participating teams include the following; Asumbi Girls, Ekerubo Secondary, Nyabigena Girls, Nduru Girls, Senior Chief Musa Nyandusi, St. Ann’s Nyangoge Girls, Kioge Girls, Nyabisawa Girls, St. Albert’s Ulanda Girls, Bishop Okok Ogada Girls and lastly Ikonge Girls.

The International Women' s Day was celebrated worldwide on March 8 to commemorate the achievements of women in all spheres including sports 


Add a comment
Omwela Retains Chairman's Post; Directors Elected To KRU Board

Omwela Retains Chairman's Post; Directors Elected To KRU Board

Richard Omwela retained the Kenya Rugby Union Chairman’s post after topping the poll with 25 votes ahead of Alexander Mutai (23 votes) and Rajinder Sembi (9 votes) during the Annual General Meeting held at the RFUEA Ground on Wednesday 22 March 2017.

Meanwhile, three new directors were elected to the board.The three directors are Sylvia Kamau (46 votes), Ray Olendo (37 votes) and Ezekiel Owuor (33 votes)who topped the polling for the four available seats alongside Ian Mugambi (38 votes) who was re-elected to the board for a second term.

The AGM also saw the adoption of a motion to increase the term limits of elected office bearers from the current two to four years with effect from  the 2018 Annual General Meeting. 

Add a comment
Shujaa To Open Hong Kong Campaign Against Canada

Shujaa To Open Hong Kong Campaign Against Canada

Shujaa will start their Hong Kong Sevens campaign with a Pool B clash against Canada at 3.18pm East African Time  on Friday 7 April 2017.They will then complete their pool matches on Saturday 8 April, starting with a fixture against series leaders South Africa at 8.56am and France at 12.34pm respectively.

The Cathay Pacific/HSBC Hong Kong Sevens is the seventh round of the 2016/17 HSBC Sevens World Series. Shujaa currently sit 12th on the log with 40 points.

Add a comment
Women's Series: Suburbs Cement Pole Position After Victory At Impala

Women's Series: Suburbs Cement Pole Position After Victory At Impala

Northern Suburbs cemented pole position in the KRU Women's Series after beating hosts  Standard Chartered Impala ladies 31-5 in the fourth round cup final at the Impala Club on Sunday.

Impala was first on the score board after Nancy Opiyo went over the whitewash with the conversion sailing wide.Suburbs would then up the momentum and score three tries two from Janet Okello who converted one try and missed one. Sheila Muhindi was second to score for the suburbs followed by a missed conversion at the stroke of half time.

Come second half, the burbs denied Impala ball possession for the better part of the half which sawJean Bisella and Janet Okello add two tries for the Thika Road side as Okello converted both tries successfully bringing the scores to 31-5 at full time.

This is the third win for the Northern Suburbs ladies team having won the first leg at Kenyatta University, in the second leg at USIU they finished third, they then came back to winning ways as they beat Homeboyz in the final of the third leg held at KCB Sports Club Ruaraka. 

The  final leg of the series will be on the 14th of April at the NAC Grounds in Nakuru

Add a comment
Women's Series: Suburbs, Homeboyz Seeded Top For Fourth Round At Impala

Women's Series: Suburbs, Homeboyz Seeded Top For Fourth Round At Impala

Series leaders Northern Suburbs are seeded first for this weekend’s fourth round of the KRU Women’s 10-a-side series set for Sunday 19 March at the Impala Club.

The Burbs are in Pool A with Mwamba, Shamas Rugby Foundation and University Warriors while Menengai Cream Homeboyz, currently second on  the log, are in Pool B with Top Fry, Nakuru, Standard Chartered Impala and the Community Rugby Association (Comras).

KRU Women’s Series

Round 4, Sunday 19 March 2017, Impala Club

Order of play

1.       Northern Suburbs v University Warriors – 9.00am

2.       Mwamba v Shamas – 9.25am

3.       Homeboyz v Comras – 9.50am

4.       Top Fry Nakuru v Standard Chartered Impala – 10.15am

5.       Northern Suburbs v Shamas – 10.40am

6.       Mwamba v University Warriors – 11.05am

7.       Menengai Cream Homeboyz v Standard Chartered Impala – 11.30am

8.       Top Fry Nakuru v Comras – 11.55am

9.       Shamas v University Warriors – 12.20pm

10.   Northern Suburbs v Mwamba – 12.45pm

11.   Standard Chartered Impala v Comras – 1.10pm

12.   Menengai Cream Homeboyz v Top fry Nakuru – 1.35pm

Ranking Semis

13.   A3 v B4 – 2.00pm

14.   B3 v A4 – 2.25pm

Cup Semis

15.   A1 v B2 – 2.50pm

16.   B1 v A2 – 3.15pm

Ranking Finals

17.   Loser 13 v Loser 14 – 3.40pm

18.   Winner 13 v Winner 14 – 4.05pm

Third Place Playoff

19.   Loser 15 v Loser 16 – 4.30pm

Cup Final


20.   Winner 15 v Winner 16 – 4.55pm

Add a comment
View all news

KRU Partners