Safari Sevens returns in November

The 22nd edition of the Safari Sevens will be played at the RFUEA Ground from 9th to 11th November 2018.

Played at this venue since its inauguration in 1996, and every year up to 2010, the tournament has been the launch pad for the careers of many a great rugby talent, the likes of Kenya Sevens greats Steve Gichuki, Ken Aswani, Felix Ochieng, Benjamin Ayimba, Oscar Osir, Allan Makaka, Humphrey Kayange, Collins Injera, to name but a few, all having made appearances and left their mark on this tournament in years gone by.

Sylvia Kamau, the Kenya Rugby Union’s acting CEO speaking at the tournament’s launch in Nairobi on Wednesday afternoon said, “The Safari Sevens returns to its spiritual home after an eight year hiatus that saw the tournament played at the Nyayo and Kasarani Stadiums in the intervening years from 2011 to 2016. Last year’s event couldn’t take off due to the prevailing political climate in the country. The return of the tournament to the RFUEA Ground is one that is bound to trigger nostalgia, an electric atmosphere both on and off the pitch,something to look forward to.”

“Already, invites have been sent out to a host of international teams including the USA,Portugal, Namibia, Ireland, Wales, Emerging Boks, Spain, Uganda, Blue Bulls, Apache Sevens,Samurai, University of Johannesburg and Western Province as the Safari Sevens Organizing Committee (SSOC)  seeks to put together a quality line up of teams for the event,” she added.

Safari Sevens Roll of Honor

1996 Public Schools Wanderers (U.K)
1997 Kenya
1998 Bristol University (England)
1999 Public Schools Wanderers (U.K)
2000 Shujaa
2001 British Army (U.K)
2002 British Army (U.K)
2003 Kenya
2004 Kenya
2005 Samoa
2006 Emerging Springboks (South Africa)
2007 Emerging Springboks (South Africa)
2008 Kenya
2009 Kenya
2010 Kenya
2011 Samoa
2012 South Africa Elite Player Development
2013 Shujaa
2014 Welsh Warriors (Wales)
2015 Samurai
2016 Shujaa
2017 Not played


Facebook Comments