Spread the word!

KCB RC wrapped up the 2019 Stanbic Bank National Sevens Circuit in style after outclassing the Resolution Impala Saracens in the second half of the final that ended 26-21 in the Bankers’ favour.

The Sarries were first on the scoreboard as Jeremy Griffins and Mark Kwemoi weaved their way through KCB’s scattered defense line for a 14-0 half time lead. In the second half, the Dennis Mwanja charges went all out landing three tries in quick succession as Geoffrey Okwach, Shaban Ahmed and Vincent Onyala went over the whitewash with Amunga and Shaban adding two and one conversions each handing KCB a 21-14 lead with a little under three minutes left on clock.

A penalty against the Bankers deep in their half presented a try scoring opportunity for the Sarries that was quicly executed by Alvin Marube and followed by a Kwemoi conversion that leveled the scores to 21-21. KCB’s Shaban Ahmed landed the winning try at the corner, Amunga’s conversion drifted wide for a 26-21 full time score.

Andrew Amonde was named the tournament’s Most Valuable Player, Vincent Onyala picked up the Top Try scorer accolade with a total of 7 tries while Stanbic Mwamba’s total of 48 points saw him lift the tournament’s Top Point Scorer accolade.

The three are part of the 2019 #Stanbic7s Dream Team

In addition to the overall Stanbic Bank Sevens Circuit title, KCB also earned the 500,000/- prize money, Stanbic Mwamba and Menengai Cream Homeboyz RFC finished second and third on the overall log with a total of 92 each. Kulabu’s superior point difference handed them the #Stanbic7s Silver title while the Deejays lifted the Bronze title along with them 250,000/- and 150,000/- prize money each.


Daystar Falcons won the Driftwood7s Division Two trophy after beating the Catholic Monks 15-10 in the final. The victory secured their overall Division Two title and a total of 150,000/- cash prize while second placed Makueni claimed the Division Two Silver title and along with it, 100,000/-.


Facebook Comments