Spread the word!

It has been 49 weeks and 6 days since we last had a top-flight match featuring two Kenya Cup sides. The long wait is finally over as this Saturday, 20th February 2021 we shall enjoy the Sisimka Charity Cup where Kenya Harlequins and Kabras Sugar RFC will face off at the Nyayo National Stadium, the match will kick off at 3:30 pm.

Both teams have named equally strong sides as we prepare to head into the Kenya Cup season kicking off on 27th February.

The starting front row comprises of matchday Captain Elisha Koronya, Brian Waraba, and Melvin Thairu. Hillary Baraza and Kenya International Wilson K’opondo will pair up as the locks while Patrice Agunda, Edward Shitanda, and new signing Joshua Chisanga complete the back row. The exciting halfback pairing of Xavier Kipng’etich and Evin Asena will be the link between forwards and backs. Dennis Muhanji, Leroy Kamau, David Ambunya, Mark Wandetto, and Brian Oyando make up the starting backline.

The Quins reserves: Ayub Kimutai, Boniface Ochieng, Mohammed Khaider, Roxy Dan Suchi, Mark Omoding, Dominic Osino, Lyle Asiligwa, and Dennis Ambitho.

Kakamega-based Kabras Sugar RFC has Ephraim Oduor, Eugene Sifuna, and Asuman Mugerwa starting in front row positions. Brian Juma and Hillary Odhiambo pairing while the back row will have the experienced Captain Dan Sikuta, George Nyambua, and Lawrence Buyachi. Scrumhalf and Flyhalf Brian Tanga and Jone Kubu are tasked with synchronizing play between forwards and backs on the day. Paul Abuto and Derrick Ashiundu will be the starting wingers as Johnstone Mawe, Malik Habil, and Felix Ayange complete the backline.

The Kabras reserves are Teddy Akala, Hillary Mwanjilwa, Joseph Odero, Kevin Wekesa, Jeason Musoga, Barry Robinson, Kevin Keegan, and Alfred Orege.

Following the #Covid19 protocols given by the World Health Organization, Ministry of Health, Ministry of Sports, and World Rugby, no fans will be allowed into the stadium.

Quins starting 15: 1. Elisha Koronya, 2. Brian Waraba, 3. Melvin Thairu, 4. Hillary Baraza, 5. Wilson K’opondo,  6. Patrice Agunda, 7. Edward Shitanda, 8. Joshua Chisanga, 9. Xavier Kipng’etich, 10. Evin Asena, 11. Dennis Muhanji, 12. Leroy Kamau, 13. David Ambunya, 14. Mark Wandetto,  15. Brian Oyando.

Reserves: 16. Ayub Kimutai, 17. Boniface Ochieng, 18. Mohammed Khaider, 19. Roxy Dan Suchi, 20. Mark Omoding, 21. Dominic Osino, 22. Lyle Asiligwa, 23. Dennis Ambitho.

Kabras starting: 1. Ephraim Oduor, 2. Eugene Sifuna, 3. Asuman Mugerwa, 4. Brian Juma, 5. Hillary Odhiambo, 6. Dan Sikuta, 7. George Nyambua, 8. Lawrence Buyachi, 9. Brian Tanga, 10. Jone Kubu, 11. Paul Abuto, 12. Johnstone Mawe, 13. Malik Habil, 14. Derrick Ashiundu, 15. Felix Ayange

Reserves: Teddy Akala, Hillary Mwanjilwa, Joseph Odero, Kevin Wekesa, Jeason Musoga, Barry Robinson, Kevin Keegan, and Alfred Orege.

Featured image courtesy of Denis Ekanusu

Facebook Comments