Spread the word!

George “Japolo” Ooro and Dennis Abukuse are in line for their debuts as Shujaa begin their 2022/23 Sevens World Series campaign next week at the Hong Kong 7s.

The duo were standouts for their respective clubs during this season’s National Sevens Circuit and have been included in the 13 man team to the far east named by Head Coach Damian McGrath on Wednesday morning in Nairobi.

Nelson Oyoo captains the squad that will play out of Pool D alongside Argentina, Ireland and Canada.

Commenting on the squad selection, McGrath said, ““I have no club bias and I pick according to what I see and come across. These guys have been very impressive and lets hope they will give their best in Hong Kong. I am really pleased with many exciting players that we are adding into the system and the senior guys are now looking over their shoulders and knowing there is competition.”

Abukuse spoke about his selection to the team, saying, ““I feel so happy and I am thankful for the management for giving me this opportunity. It is through hard work and patience and I believe it always pays. For the past two weeks, I have learnt a lot and I am sure I will do well if given the opportunity in my first ever tournament.”

Shujaa Nelson Oyoo, Vincent Onyala (Vice Captain), Bush Mwale , Willy Ambaka , Billy Odhiambo, Johnstone Olindi, Daniel Taabu, Edmund Anya, Anthony Omondi, Herman Humwa, Kevin Wekesa, Dennis Abukuse, George Ooro

Shujaa Schedule in Hong Kong

Friday 4 November 2022: v Ireland ( 1040 EAT)

Saturday 5 November 2022: v Argentina ( 625EAT)

Saturday 5 November 2022: v Canada ( 945EAT)

2022/23 HSBC Sevens World Series Calendar

Hong Kong 4-6 November 2022

Dubai 2-3 December 2022

Cape Town 9-11 December 2022

Hamilton 21-22 January 2023

Sydney 27-29 January 2023

Los Angeles 25-26 February 2023

Vancouver 3-5 March 2023

Hong Kong 31 March -2 April 2023

Singapore 8-9 April 2023

Toulouse 12-14 May 2023

London 20-21 May 2023

Facebook Comments