Nakuru comes to life with the Prinsloo Sevens

The twentieth edition of the National Sevens Circuit, now known as the Stanbic Bank National Sevens Circuit, kicks off this weekend with the Prinsloo 7s at the Home of Top Fry Nakuru RFC, the Nakuru Athletic Club.

A total of 40 teams (16 division 1 and 24 division 2 teams) are heading out to County 032 to battle it out for the crown of the twelfth edition of the Prinsloo 7s on the 21st– 22nd July.

The 2017 edition saw the KCB Rugby Club take the title after beating hosts 29-5 in the final. The quarterfinal pairings saw Menengai Cream Homeboyz shut Stanbic Mwamba out of the Semifinals beating them 17-12. Top Fry Nakuru beat Kabras Sugar 29-17. Eventual champions KCB blanked Blakblad out with a 22-0 full time score as Strathmore Leos booked a semifinal date with KCB after beating Kenya Harlequins 22-17.


Stanbic Mwamba and KCB are tied with the most #Prinsloo7s titles having bagged four each. Stanbic Mwamba was the first top flight side to win this crown in 2007 when this particular leg was introduced to the circuit. Mwamba then defended their title in 2008 before regaining the glory in 2010 and 2011. KCB then picked up from where Mwamba left off winning the 2012-2014 titles, had a two-year hiatus from lifting the trophy and went back to winning ways in 2017.

Strathmore Leos have one Prinsloo7s title won in 2009, Nakuru and Menengai Cream Homeboyz also have one title each in 2015 and 2016 respectively.


The teams have been preparing for the sevens for slightly over two months and we can only wait and see what they have to offer once we hit the ground running at 9:00am on Saturday morning. You can buy the Tickets by dialing *229*99#.

Prinsloo Sevens Previous Winners
2007 Mwamba
2008 Mwamba
2009 Strathmore
2010 Mwamba
2011 Mwamba
2012 KCB
2013 KCB
2014 KCB
2015 Nakuru
2016 Homeboyz
2017 KCB

-Wambui Mumbi

Facebook Comments
Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :