The National Sevens Circuit Is Back
Homeboyz’ Alvin Otieno evades a tackler during the 2016 Prinsloo Sevens final/Photo/OSBKE

Now in its nineteenth season, the National Sevens Circuit returns to ignite passions among teams, players, management and fans alike over the next eight weeks starting 2nd September with the Driftwood Sevens in the coastal city of Mombasa with the season finale taking place over Mashujaa day weekend in the lakeside city of Kisumu five tournaments later.

The National Sevens Circuit has over the years played a crucial role in exposing, tapping and identifying Kenyan rugby sevens talent. It will no doubt once again live up to its billing this season as teams go all out to be crowned the 2017 Kenyan club sevens champions with players seeking to turn in performances that will catch the eye of national team selectors ahead of the upcoming  Safari Sevens which runs from 3rd to 5th November and probably get a nod for national team selection too.

About The National Sevens Circuit

The National Sevens Circuit is an annual series of rugby sevens’ tournaments run by the Kenya Rugby Union in conjunction with host clubs featuring teams from across the country. Teams compete for the National Sevens Circuit title by accumulating points based on their finishing position in each tournament. The season’s circuit currently comprises 6 tournaments in 5 cities and towns namely Mombasa, Nairobi, Nakuru, Ngong’ and Kisumu.


Round 1: Driftwood Sevens, Mombasa, 2/3 September

Round 2: George Mwangi Kabeberi Memorial Sevens, Nairobi, 9/10 September

Round 3: Prinsloo Sevens, Nakuru, 23/24 September

Round 4: Sepetuka Sevens, Ngong, 30 September/1 October

Round 5: Christie Sevens, Nairobi, 14/15 October

Round 6: Dala Sevens, Kisumu, 21/22 October



1999: Impala

2000: Impala

2001: Impala

2002: Ulinzi

2003: Ulinzi

2004: Impala

2005: Quins

2006: Quins

2007: Mwamba

2008: Mwamba

2009: Strathmore

2010: Mwamba

2011: Mwamba

2012: Quins

2013: KCB


2015: Nakuru

2016: Homeboyz


Most Successful Teams In National Sevens Circuit History:

Impala with 4 titles (1999,2000,2001,2004)

Mwamba (2007,2008,2010,2011)

Nakuru is the only team from outside Nairobi to win the overall title, topping the 2015 edition.

Facebook Comments
Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :