Spread the word!

Germany have selected a blend of youth and experience for their test match away to Kenya in Nairobi on Saturday 27 May 2017. Head Coach Kobus Potgieter, speaking to the official German Rugby Union website http://www.rugby-verband.de  said, “  We will travel to Nairobi with a strong squad because we know that Kenya is by no means an easy opponent,. They are competing for a place in the World Cup, they have already defeated Spain and Portugal in the recent past. So we must be very well prepared if we want to survive. ”

Potgieter has retained a majority of the team that competed in the recently concluded  2017 Rugby Europe Championship where they finished fifth overall but pulled off a memorable  41-38 upset result over regular Rugby World Cup campaigners Romania. He welcomes back the experienced Michael Poppmeier from injury but still has doubts about Damien Tussac may be involved in action for his club side Castres who play in the French Top 14 and who are still in contention for the overall title after reaching the playoffs.

Commenting on the call ups handed to Germany U20 internationals Pirmin Stöhr  and Ben Ellermann, Potgieter said, “ We want to give some younger players the opportunity to be part of the national team, to gain experience and to see how we train and prepare. Stöhr and Ellermannare some of  these players who are future prospects but  already in a position to play at this level. Luis Ball, who is also a member of the U20s is still an U18 player and while he will definitely not see action in Kenya.”

He has also handed debuts to Felicien Vergnon and Marcel Henn and said,  “Felicien has been on our radar for a long time and like Henn, he has already made good impressions in the first training sessions and could ensure that the German 15s squad gets more depth,” said Potgieter

Germany squad

Sean Armstrong, Raynor Parkinson, Timo Vollenkemper, Kehoma Brenner, Jaco Otto, Jarrid Els, Harris Aounallah, Dale Garner, Michael Poppmeier, Jörn Schröder, Pirmin Stöhr, Luis Ball, Antony Dickinson, Chris Howells, Ben Ellermann, Daniel Cook, Jamie Murphy, Marcel Coetzee, Erik Marks, Damien Tussac, Tim Menzel, Mikael Tyumenev, Julius Nostadt, Christopher Hilsenbeck, Dasch Barber, Samy Füchsel, Mathieu Ducau, Felicien Vergnon, Marcel Henn

Non travelling reserves: Sebastian Robl , Felix Lammers , Mark Sztyndera

Facebook Comments