Spread the word!

The International Association of Preparatory Schools (IAPS) Kenya U13s are set to depart for the United Kingdom on Friday 15 March 2024.

The side will again feature at the Rosslyn Park National Schools Sevens tournament which has evolved into the world’s largest rugby tournament with over 10,000 boys and girls aged 11 – 18 competing annually.

They will play out of Pool B in the boys U13 National Sevens preparatory category alongside Millfield Preparatory School, Felsted School, St. Paul’s School, Tauton School and The Elms School on March 21.

Two days later, they will play in the National Schools 10s tournament taking place at the Caldicott School and will do battle with teams from England, Wales, Scotland, Ireland and Dubai.

Captains Tristan Kwach (left) and Francois Cloete (right) pose for photo with KRU Chairman Sasha Mutai Michael Kwambo |

This team has in previous years produced players who have gone on to play representative rugby for Kenya including Michele Brighetti, Dominic Coulson, Mark Mutuku, Jeff Mutuku, Owain Ashley, George Kyriazi and Josh Weru who famously made his debut for the Simbas at the Rugby World Cup 2023 Final Qualification Tournament in November 2022 in Dubai.

Also travelling with the team as part of the coaching staff is internationally capped scrum half Michael Wanjala who currently plays his club rugby for former Kenya Cup champions KCB.

Kenya U13 IAPS Travelling Squad: Tristan Kwach (Kenton College, Captain), Francois Cloete (The Banda School, Captain), Jake McRae (The Banda School), Essien Lewis (Braeburn Garden Estate), James de la Rey (The Banda School), Timothy Gichuha (Kenton College), Kian Murigah (Pembroke House), Spencer Thorrington (Pembroke House), Nana Opoku Nyame (Peponi House), Shaun Mutibwa (Peponi House), Bahati Mnozya (St. Andrew’s Turi), Osaki Dickson (St. Andrew’s Turi) COACHES: Henry Snow (Pembroke House), Michael Wanjala (Peponi House), John Paul Stansfield (Braeburn Garden Estate)

Facebook Comments