Spread the word!

The 2019 Stanbic Bank National Sevens Circuit will kick off on the 21st of July 2019 with the Kakamega Sevens at the Bull Ring. In 2017, Menengai Cream Homeboyz won the bid to host the additional leg of the sevens circuit for two years, which they did in Eldoret and named it the Sepetuka7s. The next two years (2019 and 2020) would see Kabras and Western Bulls jointly host this additional leg.

The circuit, played every year since 1999 and now entering its 21st edition and it’s referred to as the Stanbic Bank National Sevens Circuit. It is an annual series of rugby Sevens tournaments run by the Kenya Rugby Union in conjunction with host clubs featuring teams from across the country. Teams compete for the National Sevens Circuit title by accumulating points based on their finishing position in each tournament. The season’s circuit currently comprises 6 tournaments in 6 cities and towns across Kenya.

The caravan will head to the Capital City for the second leg of the Circuit, The George Mwangi Sevens at the RFUEA Grounds on the 27th and 28th of the same month hosted by Stanbic Mwamba. August 3rd and 4th the circuit will take a break before resuming to action on the 10th and 11th of August for the Dala7s at the Mamboleo Showground ASK followed by the Prinsloo7s on the 17th and 18th of August at the Nakuru Athletics Club.

On 31st August-1st September the Kenya Harlequins will host the penultimate round, at the RFUEA Grounds before teams wrap up the Stanbic Bank National Sevens Circuit in Mombasa for the Driftwood7s on the 7th and 8th of September.

Menengai Cream Homeboyz RFC are the Circuit defending Champions having picked up four titles: Prinsloo7s, Kabeberi7s, Sepetuka7s and the Christie7s. Stanbic Mwamba finished second overall after finishing as the runners’ up in three finals and picking up one win at the Dala7s.

Stanbic Bank National Sevens Circuit Dates and Venues

20th/21st July – Kakamega 7s, Bull Ring Kakamega

27th/28th July – Kabeberi7s, RFUEA Grounds

3rd/4th August – BREAK

10th/11th August – Dala 7s, Mamboleo Showground ASK

17th/18th August – Prinsloo7s, Nakuru Athletics Club

24th/25th August – BREAK

31st August/1st September – Christie7s, RFUEA Grounds

7th/8th September – Driftwood7s, Mombasa Sports Club

Facebook Comments
    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop