Spread the word!
KCB celebrate their victory in Nakuru/Photo/Peter Ndonga

KCB became the third different winner after three rounds of the National Sevens Circuit,beating Top Fry Nakuru 29-5 in the Prinsloo Sevens cup final at the Nakuru Athletic Club on Sunday 24 September.

Nakuru dominated the early exchanges but were unable to breach the KCB defense. They finally got on the board,Nelson Oyoo touching down at the stroke of half time for a 5-0 lead.

KCB responded after the break,Shaban Ahmed touching down before converting Ojee’s try for a 12-5 score. He would then score and convert for a 19-5 lead. Mike Wanjala  and Andrew Amonde would score at the death,KCB winning the Prinsloo Sevens for a fourth time,adding to victories in 2012,2013 and 2014.

KCB, Nakuru Set Up Cup Final Date
KCB 14 Strathmore 10
The Leos would score after stretching the KCB defense but KCB responded through Martin Owilla’s converted try, the bankers leading 7-5 but Alex Olaba pounced on KCB’s defensive indecision to touch down, the Leos taking the 10-7 lead into the interval.

Darwin Mukidza would score a converted try after the restart and off the counter attack, KCB holding out for the result.

Nakuru 19 Homeboyz 12
Philip Owuor landed the opening try, the ensuing conversion seeing Nakuru go 7-0 up. Chrispin Onyango exploited space in the Homeboyz defense, racing clear to land the host’s second try, 12-0 the half time.

Humphrey Mulama responded with a converted try for Homeboyz after the interval before OScar Ouma wound back the years, scoring under the posts after a big hit and a subsequent acceleration. The converted try seeing the Wanyore go 19-7 up. The deejays landed late but it was not enough, Nakuru taking the result.

Quarterfinal Round Up

Champions Homeboyz, hosts Nakuru, KCB and Strathmore reached the last four after emerging victorious in their cup quarter finals on Sunday morning.

Homeboyz edged Mwamba 17-12, hosts Nakuru were 29-12 winners over Kabras Sugar while KCB shut out  Blak Blad 22-0 with the Strathmore Leos eding Quins 22-17.
Challenge Trophy
Impala 29 Catholic 5
Machine 10 Bulls 15
Oilers 26 Mombasa 0
Nondies 10 MKU 17

Cup Quarters
Homeboyz 17 Mwamba 12
Nakuru 29 Kabras 17
KCB 22 Blak Blad 0
Strathmore 22 Quins 17

13th place semis
Nondies 17 Mombasa7
Catholic 10 Machine 12
Challenge Trophy Semis
Oilers 14 MKU Thika 12
Impala 17 Bulls 5
5th Place semis
Kabras 31 Mwamba 5
Blak Blad 10 Quins 12
Cup semis
Nakuru 19 Homeboyz 12
KCB 14 Strathmore 10

13th place final
Machine 26 Nondies 17

Challenge Trophy Final
Oilers 7 Impala 15

5th place playoff
Quins 12 Kabras 17

3rd/4th Playoff
Homeboyz 21 Strathmore 15

Division Two Final
Makueni 12 Kisumu 0

Cup Final
KCB 29 Nakuru 5

Facebook Comments