Spread the word!

Mwamba are the new Driftwood 7s champions after beating Menengai Oilers 19 -7 in a pulsating final at the Mombasa Sports Club on Sunday 19 June 2022.

It was Oilers who went ahead through Mark Kwemoi who scored and converted his own try for a 7-0 lead before tournament MVP Daniel Taabu scored to bring the score to 7-5.

Further tries from Mike Okello, converted by Daniel Taabu and Chrispin Omondi’s effort gave Mwamba the victory in Mombasa.

Mwamba and Menengai Oilers set up their final date after sailing through their semifinal fixtures.

Eliakim Kichoi landed two unconverted tries to cancel out Richel Wangila’s try as Mwamba claimed the 10-5 victory.

The second semifinal saw the Menengai Oilers starve defending champions KCB of possession en route to a 19-0 win. Chrispin Shitundo landed a try with Amos Onyinkwa converting for a 12-0 lead at the interval before Mark Kwemoi converted Onyikwa’s try for the full time result.



Facebook Comments