Spread the word!

Kabras Sugar defeated Menengai Oilers 10-7 to claim victory at the second round of the SportPesa National 7s Circuit, the Driftwood 7s, at the Mombasa Sports Club on Sunday 9 July 2023.

It was Dennis Abukuse who opened the scoring with a long range try, racing forty meters clear to score and convert his own try for a 7-0 lead before Kevin Wekesa responded with a touch down for Kabras, Barry Robinson converting to level the scores, 7-7 at the break.

The second half remained an arm wrestle, neither team blinking first as the game headed into extra time.

It was still scoreless at the close of the first period of extra before the Oilers conceded a penalty in the second period of extra, Jone Kubu duly obliging with the drop goal to win it for Kabras who went top of the circuit log, and also atoned for last weekend’s cup final defeat to KCB in Kisumu.


Kabras Sugar posted a 12-7 victory over Strathmore Leos as Menengai Oilers were 17-12 winners over KCB.


KCB were 31-0 winners over Kisumu in a match that saw Vincent Onyala grab a hat trick with Edmund Anya weighing in with one try. Brian Wahinya kicked over two conversions for the bankers who were also awarded a penalty try.

The second quarterfinal saw Geoffrey Ominde convert Dennis Abukuse’s try to give the Menengai Oilers a 7-0 win over Mwamba.

Kabras Sugar defeated Nondescripts 21-0 in their quarterfinal fixture while Strathmore Leos were 22-0 victors over Kenya Harlequin.

Get all the collated results here https://www.kru.co.ke/national-sevens-circuit/driftwood-7s/


Facebook Comments
    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop