Spread the word!

The second round of the SportPesa National 7s Circuit takes place at the Mombasa Sports Club with the Driftwood 7s happening on 8th and 9th July 2023.

Early circuit leaders KCB will be out to extend their advantage but will have to contend with the challenge from Kabras Sugar, Strathmore Leos, Kenya Harlequin, reigning circuit champions Menengai Oilers and defending Driftwood champions Mwamba in the quest to crowned kings of Kenyan club sevens rugby in September.

Action also continues in the Division 2 competition which features a total of 24 teams fighting for the sole ticket to the division one competition at the third round, the Prinsloo 7s in Nakuru on 5/6 August 2023.

Western Bulls and Makueni who were both relegated after failing to make the top 12 in Kisumu have their work cut out in the unforgiving second tier that is known to spring surprises. They will have to contend with the threats posed by teams such as UoE Trojans who were runners up in the div 2 competition in Kisumu as well as Embu, Stallions and Zetech Oaks, teams that all have a chance of sealing promotion to top tier action in Nakuru.

Driftwood 7s

Division 1

Pool A: KCB, Nakuru, Nondescripts, Blak Blad

Pool B: Kabras Sugar, Homeboyz, Kisumu, Mombasa

Pool C: Strathmore Leos, Menengai Oilers, Catholic Monks, Masinde Muliro

Pool D: Kenya Harlequin, Mwamba, Daystar Falcons, Kabarak University

Division 2

Pool A: Western Bulls, KCA University, Moi University, Taita Taveta

Pool B: Makueni, Kenya Prisons, South Coast Pirates, Kenya Coast National Polytechnic

Pool C: UoE Trojans, Northern Suburbs, Moi University, National Industrial Training Authority

Pool D: Embu, Mount Kenya University, TUM Marines, PUEA

Pool E: Stallions, NYS Spades, Nanyuki Jackals, Changamwe

Pool F: Zetech Oaks, Administration Police Warriors, Kilifi, Likoni Community

Driftwood 7s Previous Winners

1990- Kenya Harlequin

1991- Barclays Bank

1992- Barclays Bank

1993- Mean Machine

1994- Kenya Harlequin

1995- Kenya Harlequin

1996- Kenya Harlequin

1997- USIU Martials

1998- Kenya Harlequin

1999- Impala

2000- Kenya Harlequin

2001- Impala

2002- Ulinzi

2003- Kenya Harlequin

2004- Kenya Harlequin

2005- Kenya Harlequin

2006- Kenya Harlequin

2007- Mwamba

2008- Mwamba

2009- Strathmore

2010- Kenya Harlequin

2011- Mwamba

2012- KCB

2013- KCB

2014- Homeboyz

2015- Mwamba

2016- Kenya Harlequin

2017- Mwamba

2018- Nakuru

2019- KCB



2022 – Mwamba

Get the Driftwood div 1 schedule and scores here https://www.kru.co.ke/national-sevens-circuit/driftwood-7s/

Facebook Comments