Spread the word!

The Simbas will host their first 2023 Mzansi Challenge fixture on Saturday 6th May at the Cape Peninsula University of Technology. The match is scheduled to kick off at 3:30 pm EAT.

The team heads into this match in search of a much-needed victory after having suffered two losses at the hands of the San Clemente Rhinos and EP Elephants. Speaking after the training session, head Coach Jerome Paarwater said he is happy with the execution of set pieces and the focus this week has been on kicking.

“This week’s focus has been on the kicking game so the players can understand which part of the field we are when we have to exit from lineouts and scrums so we can play in the right areas of the field. Our set pieces were good last week and the guys understand our contesting policy that’s why we managed to steal a few balls from EP’s possession. Border is a different team and has changed a lot from last year, they have a good structure and big forwards that’s why it’s important for us to have a kicking game,” he said.

There are several changes in the match day 23: Teddy Akala, Ibrahim Ayoo, Elvis Olukusi and Jeanson Musoga who were rested last week are in the starting line up whilst Brian Wahinya, Peter Kilonzo and Timothy Mmasi who started off the bench are now in the starting 15.

Beldad Ogeta moves from left to right wing, Joel Inzuga starts as the left wing and Ntabeni Dukisa moves from fly half to fullback while Ephraim Oduor, Hillary Mwanjilwa, George Nyambua, Brian Ndirangu and Samuel Asati  retain their starting positions.

Barry Robinson, the reserve scrumhalf will be looking forward to playing his first Mzansi Challenge match tomorrow.

Simbas  line up: 

  1. Ephraim Oduor 2. Teddy Akala 3. Hillary Mwanjilwa 4. Ibrahim Ayoo 5. Elvis Olukusi 6. George Nyambua 7. Brian Ndirangu 8. Jeanson Musoga 9. Samuel Asati 10. Brian Wahinya 11. Joel Inzuga 12. Peter Kilonzo 13. Timothy Mmasi 14. Beldad Ogeta 15. Ntabeni Dukisa Reserves. 16. Griffin Musila 17. Emmanuel Mulindo 18. Brian Juma 19. Wilhite Mususi 20. Elkeans Musonye 21. Darrensheldon Kahi 22. Barry Robinson 23. Walter Okoth


Facebook Comments
    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop