Spread the word!

The 2019 Rugby Africa Gold Cup will have eight teams divided into two Pools A and B.

2018 Gold Cup Champions  Namibia spear head Pool A that also features Tunisia, Zimbabwe and the newly promoted Zambia. Pool B hosts Kenya, Uganda, Algeria and Morocco. Zambia beat Botswana and Madagascar in the Silver Cup South while Algeria beat Ivory Coast and Senegal in Silver Cup North.

The proposed format will have the pool Matches played in a round robin in two different venues and on different dates within July. Pool A matches will be played between July 6th and 14th while Pool B matches will take place between 13th and 21st July.

Pool A Matches:

6th July
Match 1- Namibia vs Tunisia
Match 2 – Zimbabwe vs Zambia
10th July
Match 3 – Namibia vs Zambia
Match 4 – Tunisia vs Zimbabwe
14th July
Match 5 – Namibia vs Zimbabwe
Match 6 – Tunisia vs Zambia

Pool B Matches
13th July
Match 1 – Kenya vs Uganda
Match 2 – Algeria vs Morocco
17th July
Match 3 – Kenya vs Morocco
Match 4 – Algeria vs Uganda
21st July
Match 5 – Kenya vs Algeria
Match 6 – Uganda vs Morocco

Participating unions have been asked to tender to host the pool stages. Winners of each pool will proceed to the final where the host will be chosen according to the points collected during the Pool Phases. The final will take place in November.

The dates are tentative and should they change, Rugby Africa will alert the participating Nations.


Facebook Comments