Spread the word!

Experienced utility back Darwin Mukidza captains the Simbas in the closing match of their South African tour against Spanish side, Diables Barcelona.

The team had a training session in Bloemfontein before running onto the pitch this afternoon for their captain’s run at the Toyota Stadium.

Speaking after today’s session, Mukidza stated that the players are pumped and ready for the encounter against the Spanish side.

“The mood in camp is good and a number of the players are excited that they get to play for the first time in this tour while for other, this will be their second time. They have also picked up the pace of the game during our training sessions and we also saw how the Diables Barcelona play their rugby. I believe we’re ready for the game and I can assure our supporters that we will give it our best when we take on to the pitch tomorrow,” said Mukidza.

Adding on to what the Captain said, the Director of Rugby, Thomas Odundo stated that after having three tough matches in SA, the management team saw it fit to rest a number of the players who have played the most. “We traveled with a large touring party of up to 33 players at some point and we would want to expose everyone to playing rugby at this level and our team selection is geared towards everyone getting adequate game time. We also want to see what their response has been based on the training session we’ve had in South Africa.

Part of the reason of the tour as well was to get good training time with the squad and we feel that we have achieved just that.” Concluded Thomas Odundo.

This match will kick off at 6:30pm EAT and will be broadcast live on Super Sport Channel 211.

Simbas squad against Diables Barcelona

1. Joseph Odero, 2. Bonface Ochieng, 3. Patrick Ouko, 4. Brian Juma, 5. Thomas Okeyo, 6. George Nyambua(VC), 7. Fidel Oloo, 8. Stephen Sakari, 9. Barry Robinson, 10. Darwin Mukidza©, 11. Derrick Ashihundu, 12. John Okoth, 13. Peter Kilonzo, 14. Andrew Matoka, 15. Isaac Njoroge. Reserves: 16. Ian Njenga, 17. Eugene Sifuna, 18. Ephraim Oduor, 19. Bethwel Anami, 20. Elkeans Musonye, 21. Brian Wahinya, 22. Vincent Onyala, 23. Jacob Ojee, 24. Daniel Sikuta, 25. Malcolm Onsando, 26. Jone Kubu.

Facebook Comments
    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop