Spread the word!

Head Coach Paul Odera has named a 38-man Simbas training squad in preparation for the RWC 2023 final qualification tournament taking place in Dubai from 6th to 18th November 2022.

With the exception of winger Derrick Ashiundu and prop Ian Njenga who are recuperating after sustaining long term injuries, Odera has kept the core of the squad that did duty at the Currie Cup First Division tournament in South Africa and the Rugby Africa Cup in Marseille, France in July this year.

Homeboyz youngster Amon Wamalwa, Quins prop Melvin Thairu and KCB’s Geoffrey Okwach are the only new additions to the training squad which begins training today.

The Simbas missed out on direct qualification to the Rugby World Cup set for France in 2023 after finishing as runners up to Namibia in the Rugby Africa Cup final, when they fell to a 36-0 defeat.

They will face off with the USA, Portugal and Hong Kong for qualification to the global event.

Simbas  Training Squad: Final RWC 2023 Qualification Tournament


Edward Mwaura (Menengai Oilers), Melvin Thairu (Kenya Harlequin), Andrew Siminyu (University of Johanesburg),  Eugene Sifuna (Kabras Sugar), Teddy Akala (Kabras Sugar), Brian Waraba (Kenya Harlequin), Patrick Ouko (KCB), Ephraim Oduor (Kabras Sugar), Joseph Odero (Kabras Sugar), Davis Chenge (KCB),Malcolm Onsando (CS Dinamo Bucaresti, Romania),Thomas Okeyo (University of Joahnesburg), Brian Juma (Kabras Sugar), Shem Joseph (Kabras Sugar), George Nyambua (Kabras Sugar), Bethuel Anami (Strathmore Leos), Daniel Sikuta (Kabras Sugar), Martin Owilah (KCB), Clinton Odhiambo (Menengai Oilers), Brian Ndirangu (Menengai Oilers)


Samuel Asati (KCB), Brian Wahinya (KCB), Brian Tanga (Kabras Sugar), Jone Kubu (Kabras Sugar), Beldad Ogeta (Menengai Oilers), John Okoth (Menengai Oilers), Timothy Okwemba (Menengai Oilers), Collins Injera (Mwamba), Vincent Onyala (KCB), Bryceson Adaka (Kabras Sugar), Peter Kilonzo (KCB), Jacob Ojee (KCB), Darwin Mukidza (KCB), Geoffrey Ominde (Menengai Oilers), Amon Wamalwa (Homeboyz), Geoffrey Okwach (KCB), Andrew Matoka (Principia College, USA), Dominic Coulson (University of Exeter, England)

Facebook Comments