Spread the word!

As we head into the third round of the SportPesa National 7s Circuit, here are a few facts and stats about the Prinsloo 7s taking place at the Nakuru Athletic Club from 4th to 6th August 2023.

The tournament is named after Pete Walter Prinsloo, a rugby enthusiast of South African origin who was part of the game’s  revamp in Nakuru in the 80s.

He died from diabetes complications but not before losing two limbs and facing several other complications. He had to go around in a wheelchair but this did not stop his enthusiasm and love for the game.

This year’s event is the fifteenth edition in honour of his efforts and following a very successful premier in October 2007, there should be a lot of fireworks as the SportPesa National 7s Circuit engages into third gear at the Prinsloo Sevens.

The Nakuru and great rift valley region has over the years produced brilliant players including Allan “Shpare” Omuyaku, Pascal Wetukha, Ben Otieno,Jotham Owili, Cyprian Shimenga,Edwin Shimenga , Enos Otieno, Gibson Weru,Vincent Mose, Lawi Buyachi, Oscar Ouma, Nelson Oyoo to name but a few.

These are just some of the players who have been blooded through the Nakuru RFC system, breaking out to become key players in subsequent years.

Successful clubs

With five titles to their name, Mwamba are the most successful team in the tournament’s history, winning the first two editions in 2007 and 2008 before adding more titles in 2010,2011 and 2019.

KCB are a close second on four titles. However, they are the only team at the tournament to have pulled off a three-peat, winning in 2012, 2013 and 2014 before adding their fourth title in 2017.

Homeboyz are two time winners of the tournament, having won it in 2016 and 2018 while hosts Nakuru (2015), city rivals Menengai Oilers (2022) and Strathmore Leos ( 2009) round off the list of winners at the Prinsloo 7s.

Ticket sales

Prinsloo 7s tickets are now on sale.

Regular tickets are retailing at Ksh 500 per day ( Saturday & Sunday) while VIP tickets cost Ksh 3000 ( Saturday and Sunday.

How to buy tickets

M-PESA Paybill: 522 533

Account: 329 329

Prinsloo 7s Previous Winners

2007 –Mwamba

2008 – Mwamba

2009 – Strathmore Leos

2010 – Mwamba

2011 – Mwamba

2012 – KCB

2013 –KCB

2014 –KCB

2015 –Nakuru

2016- Homeboyz

2017– KCB

2018 –Homeboyz

2019 – Mwamba



2022 – Menengai Oilers


Facebook Comments
    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop