Spread the word!

The two best teams left standing in the third tier KRU Nationwide league go toe to toe in Saturday’s final at Nairobi’s RFUEA Ground.

While the matter of promotion to the second tier KRU Championship has already been concluded, Shamas Rugby Foundation and Kabarak University will still battle it out at 3.00pm EAT on Saturday 20 October 2021 in the quest to crowned the champions of third tier rugby in Kenya.

Shamas qualified from the Nairobi region, going through their league phase fixtures unbeaten. They would defeat Daystar Falcons 28-25 to win the Nairobi region final on 29 February 2020 before the national quarterfinals were disrupted due to the Covid 19 pandemic.

Shamas would then defeat Maseno 22-0 in the national quarters on 6th November before edging Daystar 17-13 in last weekend’s national semifinal.

Kabarak on the other hand were second in the Rift Valley region at the close of league play. They would then fall to a 30-9 defeat to Kitale in the Rift Valley final but still earned qualification to the national quarters.

A 38-29 win over Technical University of Mombasa and a 22-20 semifinal win over Kitale saw the varsity students set up Saturday’s date with Shamas.

This match kicks off at 3.00pm


Shamas: 15. Hamisi Namisi, 14. Nielsen Jumba, 13. Godfrey Kisero, 12. Jonah Gathu, 11. Eric Shikuku, 10. Samuel Otia, 9. Timothy Lugalia, 1. Brooks Nandwa 2.George Otieno 3.Stephan Ottou (c) 4.Julian Owino 5.Paul Lagat 6.Smith Ouma 7.Philip Ongori 8.Horus Alela REPLACEMENTS 16. Fidel Maina 17.Collins Otieno 18.Mike Senke 19.Tevin Nyandeje 20.Davis Otundo 21.Frank odour 22.Donald Ochieng 23.Marvin Kabuka

Kabarak University: 15. Derrick Mwite, 14. Stanford Atta, 13. Timothy Idaki, 12. Michael Maina, 11. Emmanuel Mumoki, 10. Ray Ndivo, 9. Victor Chege, 1.Nehemiah Obare, 2. Kioko Bernard, 3. Lazarus Mugo, 4. Wayne Oduor, 5. Charles Shabaya, 6. Philip Ololso, 7. Neville Nyongesa, 8. Eugene Ngure REPLACEMENTS 16. Aaron Kimeto, 17. Richard Riaga, 18. Kevin Omare, 19. Collins Mulla, 20. Paul Simiyu, 21. Joshua Karanja, 22. Felix Otieno, 23. Aden Noor

Facebook Comments