Spread the word!

The St. Mary’s Blackrock Rugby Festival returns on Saturday 3 June 2023 at the St. Mary’s School in Nairobi, Kenya.

The tournament has been played every year since its inception in 1983 bar 2020 and 2021 when it was not held due to the COVID19 pandemic.

This year’s tournament has attracted a total of 22 teams including record winners and defending champions Rift Valley Academy who boast 12 titles to their name.

Other teams taking part include 2018 champions Ofafa Jericho High School, 4 time winners Lenana School and Nairobi School (who won the inaugural edition in 1983) among others.

The tournament has seen the likes of Paul Odera, Innocent Simiyu, Biko Adema, David Ambunya, Arnold Mwita and Uganda’s Philip Wokorach to name but a few claim the Most Valuable Player award in previous seasons.

Further details around the tournament draw and order of play will be released in subsequent communications.

Confirmed teams: Ofafa, Strathmore,Lenana ,RVA,Rosslyn Academy,Thika High School,Upperhill,Sunshine Sec. Sch.,All Saints – Embu,Aquinas, Alliance, Dagorreti,MFA,Pioneer Maragua,St. Mary’s ,Light Academy, Kitondo School (Ofafa, Lenana, Strathmore, RVA, All Saints will field two teams each )

Blackrock Rugby Festival Past Winners
1983 Nairobi School
1984 Ellis Robins School (Zimbabwe)
1985 Rift Valley Academy
1986 Lenana School
1987 Rift Valley Academy
1988 Rift Valley Academy
1989 Nairobi School
1990 Rift Valley Academy
1991 Rift Valley Academy
1992 Rift Valley Academy
1993 Lenana School
1994 St. Mary’s School
1995 St. Mary’s School
1996 St. Mary’s School
1997 St. Mary’s School
1998 St. Mary’s School
1999 St. Mary’s School
2000 Rift Valley Academy
2001 Nakuru High School
2002 Lenana School
2003 Nakuru High School
2004 St. Mary’s School
2005 St. Mary’s School
2006 Rift Valley Academy
2007 Rift Valley Academy
2008 Strathmore School II
2009 Upper Hill School
2010 St. Mary’s School
2011 St. Mary’s School
2012 Nairobi School
2013 Maseno School
2014 Rift Valley Academy
2015 Maseno School
2016 Lenana School
2017 Rift Valley Academy
2018 Ofafa Jericho High School
2019 Dagoretti High School
2020 Not played due to COVID19
2021 Not played due to COVID19
2022 Rift Valley Academy

Facebook Comments